

Present: M. Abel, B. Aiello, S. Anthony, N. Beauchamp, R. Bell, A. Bennett,
A. Borcila, J. Bunnell, H. Cho, J. Cholewicki, L. Cloud, A. Contreras, A.
Corner, M. Crimp, P. Crane, M. Donahue, D. Ewoldsen, J. Francis, G.
Garrity, E. Gardner, S. Gasteyer, M. Ghamami, J. Goldbort, D. Gould, C.
Grosso, J. Guzetta, A. Hauser, N. Hays, G. Hoppenstand, R. Isaacs, T.
Jeitschko, J. Johnson, M. Johnson, M. Kiupel, L. Lapidus, K.S. Lee, M.H.
Lee, E. Marcyk-Taylor, L. Martin, M. Mazei-Robinson, M. Mechtel, J. Meier,
D. Mendez, R. Miksicek, K. Miller, D. Moriarty, R. Ofoli, A. Olomu, A. Pegler-Gordon, R. Root, A. Ruvio, C. Scales, S. Stanley, G. Stone, S. Yaruss (for J. Searl), D. Sheridan, T. Silvestri, J. Slade, N. Smeltekop, P.N. Tan, B. Teppen,
S. Valberg, M. Wallace, G. Wittenbaum, N. Wright, J. Yun, A. Zeleke

Absent: B. Beekman, G. Benitez, J. Dulebohn, A. Dunn, J. Felton, D. Foran, E. Frantz, R. Fulton, B. Holtz, J. Jiang, S. Logan, D.F. Lopez, J. MacKeigan, L. McCabe, M. Miklavcic, F. Nunes, N. Parameswaran, R. Pennock, D. Polischuk, J. Rosa, E. Rosser, Z. Szendrei

A special meeting of the Michigan State University Faculty Senate was held on Tuesday, July 21, 2020, at 4:45 p.m. via Zoom. Chairperson Deborah Moriarty presided. The agenda was approved as presented.

Chris Scales moved that all Faculty Senate meetings for the Fall Semester be held remotely. The motion was adopted unanimously.

The Chairperson introduced the first three guest speakers, Acting Provost Thomas Jeitschko, Interim Vice President for Research and Innovation Doug Gage, and Research Integrity Officer Jim Pivarnik. The subject of the presentation was the Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation's involvement in tenure, promotion, and the research integrity process. All three took questions following the presentation.

Vice Chairperson Jennifer Johnson led a discussion on diversity, equity, and inclusion concerns informed by pre-submitted comments from faculty and academic staff. The Chairperson announced that without objection, a special August meeting of Faculty Senate would be dedicated to further discussion of these issues following more information-gathering. No objection was voiced.

The Chairperson introduced the final guest speakers, Interim Chief of Police Doug Monette, Captain Matt Merony, and Captain Chris Rozman. The



focus of their presentation was policing, with an emphasis on answering presubmitted questions from members of Faculty Senate.

The meeting adjourned at 7:02 p.m.

A Sihata 7

Tyler Silvestri Secretary for Academic Governance

Approved: September 15, 2020