

Present: M. Abel, S. Anthony, S. Barman, A. Weber (for J. Bazil), J. Beck, A. Bernstein, A. Borcila, J. Bunnell, S. Carey, R. Schmaelzle (for D. Carnahan), B. Chakrani, H. Cho, J. Cholewicki, A. Contreras, A. Corner, P. Crane, M. Crimp, L. Davenport, D. DeVoss, D. Dixson, M. Donahue, D. Ewoldsen, D. Thornton, M. Fulton, E. Gardner, G. Garrity, S. Gasteyer, M. Ghamami, D. Gould, S. Griffis, C. Grosso, J. Guzzetta, A. Hauser, D. Hershey, J. Jiang, J. Johnson, R. Jussaume, M. Juzwik, K. Kelly-Blake, A. Kepsel, D. Kirk, S. Konstantopoulos, R. LaDuca, S. Lee, T. Li, S. Logan, L. Lorenzo, L. Martin, M. Mazei-Robison, M. Mechtel, J. Meier, K. Miller, S. Moore, A. Odom, A. Olomu, N. Parameswaran, A. Pegler-Gordon, C. Poitra, K. Prouty, R. Root, B. Roth, A. Ruvio, K. Salvador, C. Scales, R. Scrivens, D. Sheridan, T. Silvestri, M. Smania, N. Smeltekop, J. Spink, S. Stanley, G. Stone, P. Tan, B. Teppen, J. Francis (for V. Thronson), A. Tickner, S. Valberg, V. Watson, W. Wong, T. Woodruff, C. Wrede, N. Wright, J. Yun, A. Zeleke

Absent: W. Beekman, N. Teagan

A regular meeting of the Michigan State University Faculty Senate was held on Tuesday, February 16, 2021, at 3:15 p.m. via Zoom. Chairperson Jennifer E. Johnson presided, and Secretary for Academic Governance Tyler Silvestri was present. The agenda was approved as distributed. The draft minutes of the January 19, 2021 Faculty Senate meeting were approved following one amendment.

Remarks were given by President Samuel L. Stanley Jr., Provost Teresa K. Woodruff, Executive Vice President for Health Sciences Norman J. Beauchamp Jr., and the Chairperson.

Marci Mechtel gave <u>a report</u> on behalf of the University Committee on Curriculum.

Andrew Corner gave <u>a report</u> on behalf of the University Committee on Undergraduate Education evaluating what implications the existing webcam policy (which generally does not require students to turn on their webcams) has for people with disabilities.

Sandra Logan moved to adopt <u>a resolution</u> titled, "Resolution on Policies and Practices Related to Creating a Safe, Inclusive Campus Environment." By consent, consideration of the motion was postponed pending consultation with Associate Vice President and Title IX Coordinator Tanya Jachimiak.

Logan moved to adopt a resolution titled, "Resolution on Administrator, Faculty, and Staff Training to Create a Safe, Inclusive Campus Environment" (Appendix A). The motion was adopted following debate.

Logan moved to adopt a resolution titled, "Resolution on Review of Deans and Higher-Level Administrators Related to Creating a Safe, Inclusive Campus Environment" (Appendix B). The motion was adopted following debate.

The Chairperson facilitated a discussion on the <u>proposed Code of Professional</u> <u>Standards and Behaviors for Faculty and Academic Staff</u>. Feedback was given to



University Committee on Faculty Affairs Chairperson Mick Fulton, and it was agreed that the document would come back to Faculty Senate following further revision.

Vice Chairperson Anna Pegler-Gordon and Andaluna Borcila moved to adopt the following resolution:

Faculty Senate recognizes that all faculty have been affected by the COVID-19 crisis and have engaged in extraordinary efforts to continue research, fulfill administrative responsibilities, and support and teach students under very difficult circumstances. We also realize that those of us who are caregivers have been especially heavily and collectively impacted by the crisis in ways that have affected research productivity, teaching effectiveness, health, and family wellbeing. We understand that this crisis challenges faculty excellence, exacerbates inequities, and negatively impacts the university's investments in strengthening diversity. We recognize an urgent need to address this caregiving crisis. Faculty senators call upon the university administration to commit financial support and provide additional guidance to enable colleges to meet the needs of caregiving faculty and maintain Michigan State University's excellence.

The motion was adopted following debate.

The Chairperson introduced the guest speakers, Vice President for Finance and Treasurer Mark Haas and Vice President for Planning and Budgets David Byelich, who gave <u>a presentation titled "Cash, Finances, and Budget Update</u>."

Stephanie Anthony moved to adopt seven resolutions related to policing. Debate on all seven resolutions occurred simultaneously. After debate, the fifth resolution was amended and the seventh resolution was withdrawn by consent. Each of the remaining six resolutions was voted on separately. Following debate and amendment, the six resolutions (Appendix C) were adopted.

The meeting adjourned at 5:33 p.m.

A Sinch.

Tyler Silvestri Secretary for Academic Governance

Approved: