

Present: M. Abel, S. Anthony, S. Barman, J. Busik (for J. Bazil), J. Beck, A. Bernstein,
A. Borcila, J. Bunnell, D. Carnahan, H. Cho, J. Cholewicki, A. Contreras, A. Corner,
M. Crimp, D. Kirk, L. Davenport, D. DeVoss, D. Dixson, M. Donahue, D. Ewoldsen,
R. Fulton, E. Gardner, S. Gasteyer, M. Ghamami, D. Gould, S. Griffis, C. Grosso,
J. Guzzetta, D. Hershey, A. Hauser, J. Jiang, J. Johnson, N. Jones, R. Jussaume,
M. Juzwik, K. Kelly-Blake, A. Kepsel, S. Konstantopoulos, R. LaDuca, S. Lang, K.S. Lee,
T. Li, S. Logan, S. Lott, L. Lorenzo, L. Martin, M. Mazei-Robinson, M. Mechtel, J. Meier,
K. Miller, S. Moore, A. Odom, S. Rayamajhi (for A. Olomu), N. Parameswaran,
A. Pegler-Gordon, C. Poitra, K. Prouty, B. Roth, A. Ruvio, K. Salvador, C. Scales,
R. Scrivens, D. Sheridan, T. Silvestri, M. Smania, J. Spink, S. Stanley, G. Stone, P.N. Tan,
N. Teagan, B. Teppen, D. Thornton, V. Thronson, A. Tickner, S. Valberg, W. Wong,
T. Woodruff, C. Wrede, N. Wright, J. Yun, A. Zeleke

Absent: S. Carey, B. Chakrani, P. Crane, R. Root, N. Smeltekop, V. Watson

A regular meeting of the Michigan State University Faculty Senate was held on Tuesday, April 20, 2021, at 3:15 p.m. via Zoom with Chairperson Jennifer E. Johnson presided. The agenda was approved following an amendment. The draft minutes of the March 16, 2021 Faculty Senate meeting were approved as presented.

President Samuel L. Stanley Jr., Provost Teresa K. Woodruff, and the Chairperson gave remarks.

Interim Associate Provost and Associate Vice President for Academic Human Resources Suzanne Lang presented on required changes to the Overload Pay policy and took questions after.

University Committee on Curriculum Chairperson Marci Mechtel gave <u>a report</u> on behalf of the University Committee on Curriculum.

University Committee on Faculty Affairs Chairperson Mick Fulton presented UCFA's annual <u>faculty salary recommendation</u>. Fulton moved that Faculty Senate endorse the recommendations. The motion was adopted unanimously.

University Committee on Academic Governance Chairperson Amanda Tickner moved to endorse UCAG's slate nominees for At-Large Members of the Steering Committee, which was composed of: Stephanie Anthony, d'Ann de Simone, Megan Donahue, Nicolas Gisholt, Karen Kelly-Blake, and Jack Lipton. The motion was adopted following debate.



Tickner moved to endorse UCAG's slate of nominees for the Athletic Council, which was composed of: Matthew Anderson, Wolfgang Bauer, Michael Everett, Nicolas Gisholt, Bree Holtz, Mary Juzwik, Rebecca Malouin, Christopher Melde, Jake Rowan, and Michael Shingles. The motion was adopted following debate.

Tickner introduced the nominees to fill two vacancies on the University Committee on Student Affairs for the 2021-2024 term. The vote report was as follows, with the elected individuals appearing in bold:

> Joyce Meier – 44 votes Nicolas Gisholt – 30 votes Holly Flynn – 24 votes Dustin Petty – 22 votes

Tickner introduced the nominees to fill one vacancy on the Department of Police and Public Safety Oversight Committee for the 2021-2023 term. The vote report was as follows, with the elected individual appearing in bold:

> **Catherine Grosso – 48 votes** Jason Almerigi – 9 votes

Tickner introduced the nominees to fill three vacancies on the Military Education Advisory Committee for the 2021-2023 term. The vote report was as follows, with the elected individuals appearing in bold:

> Tina Riley – 44 votes Chad Niederhuth – 43 votes Dawn Goldstein – 42 votes Jan Eberle Kanui – 39 votes Nate Clason – 35 votes

UCFA Chairperson Mick Fulton and Faculty Grievance Official Francisco Villarruel presented on <u>proposed amendments to the Faculty Grievance Policy</u>. Fulton moved that Faculty Senate approve of the amendments. The motion was adopted following debate.

Sandra Logan moved to adopt <u>a resolution</u> titled, "Resolution from the Ad Hoc Committee on Response to the Office for Civil Rights re: Policies and Practices," an earlier version of which had been introduced and tabled at the February 16, 2021 Faculty Senate meeting. The motion was adopted following debate.



The annual reports of the <u>University Committee on Faculty Affairs</u> and <u>University</u> <u>Committee on Faculty Tenure</u> were given by UCFA Chairperson Fulton and UCFT Chairperson Susan Barman, respectively.

Chairperson Johnson facilitated a discussion to have summer meetings to address reopening, caregiving, faculty salary reinstatement, and DEI concerns. Following debate, the Faculty Senate voted 27 to 24 in favor of holding at least one special meeting over the summer. Additionally, the Faculty Senate voted 35 to 15 in favor of holding one special meeting in June rather than three (one in May, one in June, and one in July). The special meeting was scheduled for June 15, 2021 from 3:15–5:00 p.m. over Zoom.

The meeting adjourned at 5:34 p.m.

TA Cilveta

Tyler Silvestri Secretary for Academic Governance **Approved:** June 15, 2021