

#### **Approval of Agenda and Minutes**

The Michigan State University Faculty Senate held a meeting on Tuesday, December 19, 2023 at 3:15 p.m. via Zoom with Chairperson Jack W. Lipton presiding. The agenda was approved as presented. The draft minutes of the November 21, 2023 meeting were approved as presented.

#### Remarks

Interim President Teresa K. Woodruff, Interim Provost Thomas D. Jeitschko, Executive Vice president for Health Sciences Norman J. Beauchamp Jr., M.D., MHS, and Chairperson Jack W. Lipton gave remarks.<sup>1</sup>

#### **Research at Michigan State University**

Vice President for Research and Innovation Doug Gage gave a presentation regarding Research Security in accordance with federal guidelines and university values.<sup>2</sup>

# Faculty Recruitment, Hiring, Retention, Promotion, and Tenure

Interim Provost Thomas Jeitschko, Vice President and Chief Diversity Officer Jabbar Bennett, Interim Vice Provost and Associate Vice President for Faculty and Academic Staff Affairs Ann Austin, and Assistant Provost Kara Yermak gave a presentation on the state of hiring and recruitment and changes made to this process in support of DEI. Discussion was had afterwards.

# **University Outreach and Engagement**

Vice Provost for University Outreach and Engagement Kwesi Brookins gave a presentation on the ways that Michigan State is encouraging collaboration through scholarships and university programs.

# Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 5:02 p.m.

Gary Hoppenstand, Ph.D.

Secretary for Academic Governance Approved: January 23, 2024

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> A video of their remarks (and the rest of the meeting) can be found at <u>https://acadgov.msu.edu/facultysenate</u>.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Link to the presentation: <u>https://acadgov.msu.edu/-/media/assets/academicgovernance/docs/resources/resources---</u> presentations-and-reports/2023\_faculty-senate-research-security-overview-d-gage-12192023.pptx?rev=0fa2fdabf6b84d0cba692d4b7b91cf7c&hash=4BDF84342F0206B4A1476DE98F567250



Attendance			
Present	39		
Absent	41		
Total	80		
Quorum	36		

Constituency/Title	Name	Attendance
RCAH	John Aerni-Flessner	Present
James Madison	Daniel Ahlquist	Absent
UCFA	Jamie Alan	Present
UCFT	Sue Barman	Present
Osteopathic Medicine	Jason Bazil	Present
Executive Vice President for Health Sciences	Norman Beauchamp	Present
Arts and Letters	Kate Birdsall	Absent
Libraries	Tad Boehmer	Present
Social Science	Laurie Bulock	Present
Music	Jane Bunnell	Absent
Veterinary Medicine	Stephan Carey	Absent
Lyman Briggs	Samantha Cass	Absent
Arts and Letters	Brahim Chakranix	Absent
Social Science	Guo Chen	Absent
Human Medicine	Scott Counts	Absent
Veterinary Medicine	Sean Crosson	Present
Natural Science	Gustavo de los Campos	Absent
At-Large, Arts and Letters	d'Ann de Simone	Present
Arts and Letters	Danielle DeVoss	Absent
Social Science	James Dulebohn	Absent
Engineering	Chengcheng Fang	Absent
Law	David Favre	Absent
Education	Amelia Gotwals	Present
Natural Science	Francois Greer	Absent
Natural Science	Brian Gulbransen	Absent

# **Faculty Senate**

Minutes December 19, 2023



Constituency/Title	Name	Attendance
Associated Students of Michigan State University	Alissa Hakim	Present
RCAH	Tama Hamilton-Wray	Absent
Communication Arts and Sciences	Dan Hiaeshutter-Rice	Present
Academic Specialist Advisory Committee	Kelly Hodges	Present
UCL	Jackeline Iseler	Absent
Council of Graduate Students	Hannah Jeffery	Present
Interim Provost	Thomas Jeitschko	Present
Agriculture and Natural Resources	Satish Joshi	Absent
Social Science	Raymond Jussaume	Absent Stephen Gasteyer
Arts and Letters	Zach Kaiser	Absent
Social Science	Zeenat Kotval- Karamchandani	Absent
Natural Science	Min-Hao Kuo	Present
Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education and Dean of Undergraduate Studies	Mark Largent	Absent
At Large	Jack Lipton	Present
Nursing	Gayle Lourens	Absent
James Madison	Russell Lucas	Present
At Large	Rebecca Malouin	Present
Arts and Letters	Kristen Mapes	Present
Human Medicine	Claire Margerison	Present
Engineering	Andrew Mason	Present
Human Medicine	Cristian Meghea	Absent
Law	Noga Morag-Levine	Present
Natural Science	Aaron Odom	Present
Business	Hanyong Park	Present
Education	Matthew Pontifex	Present
Communication Arts and Sciences	Rabindra "Robby" Ratan	Absent
Agriculture and Natural Resources	Matt Raven	Present

# Faculty Senate

Minutes December 19, 2023



Constituency/Title	Name	Attendance
UCAG	Dean Rehberger	Present
Business	Ayalla Ruvio	Absent
Osteopathic Medicine	Amit Sachdev	Absent Terrie Taylor
Osteopathic Medicine	Janice Schwartz	Absent
UCGS	Trixie Smith	Present
Business	John Spink	Present
At Large	Justin St. Charles	Absent
Emeriti Faculty	Gary Stone	Absent
Agriculture and Natural Resources	Jeff Swada	Present
UCUE	Antoinette Tesmmer	Present
Communication Arts and Sciences	Alexandra Thrubis Stanley	Absent
UCSLE	Jeffrey Tsang	Present
Education	Emre Umucu	Absent
Faculty Grievance	Francisco Villarruel	Absent
Nursing	Chastity Warren	Absent
Agriculture and Natural Resources	Lorraine Weatherspoon	Present
Libraries	Kathleen Weessies	Absent
Agriculture and Natural Resources	Cimberly Weir	Present
UCC	Valeta Wensloff	Present
Lyman Briggs	Peter White	Absent Stef Shuster
Human Medicine	Michael Williams	Absent
At Large	Angela Wilson	Present
Interim President	Teresa Woodruff	Present
Engineering	Mark Worden	Absent
FRIB	Chris Wrede	Present
Engineering	Neil Wright	Present
Human Medicine	Hua Xiao	Absent
Music	Guy Yehuda	Present