University Committee on Academic Governance

Draft Minutes October 12, 2023



Present: A. Austin, D. Bello-DeOcampo, M. Crimp, D. Ewoldsen, J. Ezzo, J. Fitzsimmons, H. Khan, D. Kramer, G. Melgar, H. Rathod, F. Ravitch, D. Rehberger, T. Silvestri, G. Sly, J. Swada, J. Urquhart, A. Versluis

A regular meeting of the University Committee on Academic Governance was held on October 12, 2023 at 3:15 p.m. The agenda was approved as presented. The draft minutes of the March 30 and April 6, 2023 meetings were approved as presented.

Secretary for Academic Governance Tyler Silvestri gave remarks. Following this, new members of the committee introduced themselves.

Election of Chairperson and Vice Chairperson

The committee unanimously elected Dean Rehberger chairperson and Gordon Sly vice chairperson.

Meeting Modality

Following discussion, a majority of members voted to hold meetings online for the foreseeable future.

Preview Upcoming/Existing UCAG Agenda Items

The committee was made aware of upcoming agenda items, including the eligibility of health professions faculty to serve as deans, faculty participation in awarding honorary degrees, Athletic Council's role, and best practices for dean reviews.

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 4:15 p.m.

Tyler Silvestri

Secretary for Academic Governance

Approved: