Letter for voting faculty

McCabe, Laura		
Sat 5/19/2018 11:39 AM		
To: Lott, Sherry	;Academic Governance <acadgov@msu.edu></acadgov@msu.edu>	>
Cc: Moriarty, Deborah	;Watts, Edward	Greg M. Swair
	Laduca Jr, Robert	
HI Sherry,		
The letter below is to go out to	o the voting faculty.	
Thank you!		
Laura		

Dear Voting Faculty,

We write to report the results of the vote for faculty representation on the Presidential Search Committee.

The Ballot was sent to 2,762 voting faculty.

1,025 voted.

The top 5 candidates are:

Betty H. C. Cheng, Engineering Megan Donahue, Natural Science Mary A. Finn, Social Science Katherine Hunt, Natural Science Angela K. Wilson, Natural Science

The selection does not represent the broad diversity of our faculty, which we believe will be important when the search committee is finally constituted. It should also be noted that the vote had no clear winners.

As requested by Faculty Senate, we are forwarding the election results to the Board of Trustees. It now appears very unlikely that the search process will begin in the summer. Moving forward we plan to work with UCAG, the full Steering Committee, and the Faculty Senate to assure that there is diversity and broad faculty representation on the search committee.

We have communicated very clearly to the Board of Trustees that the Faculty Senate expects faculty representation with both voice and vote on the Presidential Search Committee.

Sincerely,
At-large Members of Steering Committee
Laura McCabe, Chair
Deborah Moriarty, Vice-Chair
Rob LaDuca, Incoming Chair
Ned Watts, Member
Greg Swain, Member