MICHIGAN STATE

August 13th, 2021

Dear Provost Woodruff, Dean Kempel, and Members of the Faculty Senate:

Recently, the Engineering College Advisory Council (ECAC) voted to send a letter to the Faculty Senate which expressed concerns about the Provost's recommendations to include new standards for Reappointment, Promotion, and Tenure (RPT). In particular, the letter rebutted **Proposed Standard 7:** "Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Efforts Related to Research/Scholarship/Creative/Performative Activities, Teaching Outreach, and Service" and **Proposed Standard 8:** "Core Values Related to Conduct." The letter was entitled "ECAC Letter to Faculty Senate" and dated August 4th, 2021.

We wish to express dissention with the points made in the letter from the ECAC, and we instead affirm our support for these Proposed Standards with regard to DEI and collegiality in conduct. We believe these standards are important initiatives towards cultivating a diverse, equitable, supportive, and productive faculty body at MSU. In addition, the proposed standards align MSU with much of the rest of the nation and world in an explicit effort to recognize and encourage actions by faculty to improve the climate in academia for underrepresented groups, as well as to increase participation by members from these groups. This includes major funding agencies, such as DOE, NIH and NSF.

In an effort to avoid any adverse effects on our untenured colleagues, we include here only names of tenured individuals in the College of Engineering.

COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING 428 S. Shaw Lane

428 S. Shaw Lane East Lansing, Michigan 48824-1226

Cell: (612) 201-7591 Fax: (517) 353-7179 ranthony@egr.msu.edu Sincerely,

Rebecca J. Anthony, Ph.D. ranthony@egr.msu.edu

Mechanical Engineering

Michele J. Grimm, Ph.D mgrimm@msu.edu

Mechanical Engineering

Tamara Reid Bush, PhD reidtama@msu.edu

Mechanical Engineering

Xinran Xiao, PhD <u>xinran@egr.msu.edu</u> Mechanical Engineering

MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.

(att

Galit Pelled Ph.D.
pelledga@msu.edu
Biomedical engineering

Assaf A. Gilad Ph.D.

Gilad@msu.edu

Biomedical Engineering

Sara Roccabianca, Ph.D. roccabis@egr.msu.edu
Mechanical Engineering

Elisa Toulson Ph.D. toulson@msu.edu Mechanical Engineering

Elin Toulo

Erin Purcell, Ph.D.

epurcell@msu.edu

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Biomedical Engineering

Nelson Sepúlveda Alancastro, Ph.D. Professor Electrical and Computer Engineering

Also signed anonymously by:

- 4 Tenure-stream assistant professors
- 1 Teaching Specialist

Andrew J. Christlieb, Ph.D. christli@msu.edu CMSE

Circles of Christia