University Committee on Academic Governance



Minutes September 29, 2022

Present: R. Bell, V. Delgado, D. Ewoldsen, B. Fox, C. Gomez, T. Grotjohn, T. Jeitschko, L. Komis, J. Lipton, R. Lucas, D. Rehberger, D. Rivera, T. Silvestri, G. Sly, D. Stroupe, J. Swada, A. Tickner, D. Troutman, S. Vickery, W. Wong

Absent: B. Olivier, R. Hallgren, M. Kuykendall, J. Ling, N. Overton

A regular meeting of the University Committee on Academic Governance was held on September 29, 2022 at 3:15 p.m. via Zoom with Chairperson Jack Lipton presiding. The agenda was approved as presented. The draft minutes of the April 21, 2022 meeting were approved as presented.

Chairperson Lipton, Secretary for Academic Governance Tyler Silvestri, and Senior Associate Provost Thomas Jeitschko gave remarks. The members of the committee then took turns introducing themselves.

Election of Chairperson and Vice Chairperson

Jack Lipton and Robert Bell nominated themselves to be chairperson for the 2022–2023 academic year. The committee elected Lipton chairperson.

Lipton nominated Robert Bell to be vice chairperson for the 2022–2023 academic year. There were no other nominees. The committee elected Bell vice chairperson.

Health Professions Faculty's Eligibility to Serve as Dean in Health Colleges

Section 2.1.2. of the *Bylaws for Academic Governance* reads, in relevant part, "Administrative officers of the major education and research units of the University shall be members of the regular faculty, health professions faculty, or FRIB/NSCL faculty, except deans, who shall be members of the regular [tenure-stream] faculty."

Executive Vice President for Health Sciences Norman J. Beauchamp Jr. joined the meeting to discuss whether the *Bylaws* should be amended to allow health professions faculty to serve as dean of the College of Human Medicine, College of Osteopathic Medicine, and the College of Nursing (hereinafter "the health colleges").

Among the questions and points raised during the discussion were:

- What would the tenure process look like in a college where the dean is not in the tenure system? By what mechanism would a dean identify a tenured substitute to participate in RPT, and should the mechanism be the same across colleges? How open should that process be?
- Because many faculty in the health colleges are health professions faculty, would changing the rules make it less like than an internal, tenured candidate for dean would be selected?
- Would the proposed change make political appointments of deans more likely?
- How do peer institutions address this issue?
- Would a health professions dean need to maintain some level of scholarship?

University Committee on Academic Governance



Minutes September 29, 2022

- Is this solution the best one, or could other solutions address the issue (e.g., health colleges changing tenure standards, changing the pillars of tenure in the health colleges)?
- Would a dean without tenure be able to advocate as well for the faculty if they are worried about their job security? Could the creation of a continuing health professions track ameliorate this concern?
- If this change were limited to apply only to the health colleges, would other colleges begin seeking carveouts to the *Bylaws* of their own?

The committee agreed to consider the discussion at a later date after providing EVPHS Beauchamp with questions to which the committee would like written answers.

Bylaw Amendment re: UCSA Name and Composition

At the April 21, 2022 UCAG meeting, the committee approved the following amendments to the *Bylaws for Academic Governance:*

Blanket Amendments

- Change all instances of "Vice President for Student Affairs and Services" to "Senior Vice President for Student Life and Engagement"
- Change all instances of "University Committee on Student Affairs" to "University Committee on Student Life and Engagement"
- Change "Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs and Services" to "Division of Student Life and Engagement"

Specific Amendments

- 4.9.1. The University Committee on Student Life and Engagement (UCSLE) shall have four faculty members selected by the Faculty Senate. UCSLE shall have eleven student members appointed as follows: six appointees from ASMSU, including the President of ASMSU; two appointees from COGS; one appointee from the Residence Halls Association; one appointee from Fraternity and Sorority Life; one appointee from the University Apartments Council of Residents; and the At-large Student Liaison to the Board of Trustees, as appointed by the Senior Vice President for Student Life and Engagement. UCSLE appointees are expected to reflect the diversity of their constituencies. The Senior Vice President for Student Life and Engagement, Assistant Vice President for Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Belonging, Assistant Vice President for Student and External Relations and Dean of Students, Assistant Vice President of Residence Education and Housing Service, Assistant Vice President for Student Involvement and Leadership, and the University Ombudsperson shall be ex-officio members with voice, but no vote.
- 4.9.2. The chairperson of the UCSLE shall be a voting member of the University Council. At its first meeting of the academic year, the UCSLE must elect one of its faculty members to represent UCSLE as a voting member of the Faculty Senate.

University Committee on Academic Governance



Minutes September 29, 2022

4.9.5.

At the April 21 meeting, the secretary drew the committee's attention to two oversights in the approved text and suggested that the proposal be amended. By consent, the committee adopted the following changes:

• [Blanket amendment] Change all instances of "University Committee on Student Affairs" to "University Committee on Student Life and Engagement" and "UCSA" to "UCSLE"

. . .

• [Specific amendment to part of section 4.9.1.] Correct "shall have eleven student members" to "shall have twelve student members."

College Bylaw Reviews

The committee continued college bylaw reviews. Denise Troutman moved to approve the draft report regarding the bylaws of the College of Arts and Letters. The motion was adopted by consent following debate.

The meeting adjourned at 4:54 p.m.

Tyler Silvestri

TA Silvets.

Secretary for Academic Governance

Approved: