## University Committee on Academic Governance

Draft Minutes February 27, 2025



**Present:** Victoria Nelson, Elizabeth Gardner, Julia Ezzo, Arthur Versluis, Mary Juzwik, John Fitzsimmons, Christopher Maxwell, Gerald (Jerry) Urquhart, Gordon Sly, Jiying Ling, Saleem Alhabash, Daniel Kramer, Shawnee Vickery, Noah Lubben, Kara Yermak, Martin Crimp, Tama Hamilton-Wray, Rick Hallgren

**Absent:** Teresa Mastin, David Hogan, Vatsal Gupta, Saniya Henderson, Frank Ravitch, Diana Bello DeOcampo, N. Bari Olivier

A regular meeting of the University Committee on Academic Governance was held on February 27, 2025 at 3:16 pm via Zoom with Chairperson Gardner presiding. The agenda was approved as written. The minutes of the February 6, 2025 meeting were approved as written.

### Remarks

Chairperson Gardner and Secretary for Academic Governance Nelson gave remarks.

#### **New Business**

Secretary Nelson led a discussion on the electronic meeting guidance document and how voting is conducted in virtual meetings.

Secretary Nelson discussed the service requirement on University committees for Fixed Term Faculty and Non-Tenured Faculty. Recommendation for Secretary Nelson to take this discussion to the Deans, the Fixed Term Faculty Union, and the Provost-level.

Secretary Nelson sought feedback on election norms relating to the number of candidates one is required to vote for when multiple seats are open. Secretary Nelson will send a poll with options to UCAG.

Secretary Nelson recommended revising Chair and Vice Chair/Leadership transitions in the Bylaws. Discussion.

Motion to postpone agenda items 5.5 and 5.6 until the next meeting. Motion approved.

### Comments from the Floor None

### Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 4:53 p.m.

# University Committee on Academic Governance

Draft Minutes February 27, 2025



<u>Julia Ezzo</u>

Julia Ezzo Vice Chairperson/Secretary for UCAG **Approved:**