

**Present:** A. Austin, S. Barman, A. Berg, M. Boivin, A. Burt, S. Crespo, M. Dease, M. Handelman, D. Hiaeshutter-Rice, M. Mahey, L. Mansfield, J. Morningstar, B. O'Brien, L. Schmitt Olabisi, J. Schaeffer, D. Sheridan, T. Silvestri, S. Walton

## Absent: X. Jin, R. Pennock, M. Zekhnini

A regular meeting of the University Committee on Faculty Tenure was held on September 20, 2023 at 4:00 pm via Zoom. Chairperson Sue Barman presided. The agenda was approved as presented. The draft minutes of the April 26, 2023 meeting were approved as presented.

After members' introductions, the chairperson and Interim Vice Provost and Associate Vice President of Faculty and Academic Staff Affairs Ann Austin gave remarks.

## **Election of Officers**

Michael Boivin nominated Sue Barman to serve as chairperson for the 2023–2024 academic year. No other member was nominated. The committee agreed by consent to name Barman the chairperson.

Barman nominated Alex Burt to serve as vice chairperson. No other member was nominated. The committee agreed by consent to name Burt the vice chairperson.

## **Tenure Extension Request 232401**

The committee reviewed a request from a member of the College of Natural Science faculty for a two-year extension of their tenure clock. Matt Handelman moved to approve the request. Following debate, the committee adopted the motion by consent.

## **Tenure Extension Request 232402**

The committee reviewed a request from a member of the College of Communication Arts and Sciences faculty for a one-year extension of their tenure clock. Dan Hiaeshutter-Rice moved to approve the request. Following debate, the committee adopted the motion by consent.

# Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 4:45 p.m.

TA Sinate

Tyler Silvestri Secretary for Academic Governance

Approved: