Committee Meetings Throughout Summer 2020

The Steering Committee (TSC) and Faculty Senate (FS) will meet throughout summer 2020.  TSC convened on June 9 and FS covened on June 23.  TSC convened again on July 7, via Zoom. University Council and Faculty Senate will convene ,via Zoom, on Tuesday, July 21, 3-6pm.  University Council to convene first and Faculty Senate will convene immediately following.  The Faculty Senate meeting may run until 6pm. Future summer meetings TBA.

Faculty Senate Membership 2020-2021

You are here

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Effective August 16, 2020

Faculty Senate is made up of The Steering Committee At-Large Faculty members, Standing Committee Chairpersons and Elected Faculty Members from Colleges:

THE STEERING COMMITEE AT-LARGE FACULTY MEMBERS: (VOTING MEMBERS OF UNIVERSITY COUNCIL & FACULTY SENATE)
COMMITTEE
MEMBER
COLLEGE
EMAIL
TERM
Steering Committee Stephanie Anthony Fixed Term Faculty - Academic Specialist antho105@msu.edu 2021
Steering Committee Megan Donahue Natural Science donahu42@msu.edu 2021
Steering Committee Anna Pegler-Gordon** James Madison gordonap@msu.edu 2021
Steering Committee Jennifer Johnson*  Human Medicine jjohns@msu.edu 2022
Steering Committee Andrea Kepsel  Non-College akepsel@msu.edu 2022
UNIVERSITY LEVEL STANDING COMMITEE CHAIRPERSONS: (VOTING MEMBERS OF UNIVERSITY COUNCIL AND FACULTY SENATE)
COMMITTEE
MEMBER
COLLEGE
EMAIL
TERM
UCAG Pending     2021
UCUE Pending     2021
UCC Marci Mechtel (R)  Nursing mechtelm@msu.edu 2021
UCFA Pending     2021
UCFT

Pending

    2021
UCGS Pending     2021
UCSA

Pending

    2021

 

College Elected Faculty Members:

AGRICULTURE & NATURAL RESOURCES
MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
Elizabeth Gardner 2021  egardner@msu.edu
Dana Kirk 2022  kirkdana@msu.edu
Christie Poitra 2022

 poitrach@msu.edu

Brian Roth 2022  rothbri@msu.edu
Brian Teppen 2022  teppen@msu.edu
ARTS & LETTERS
MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
Joyce Meier (FT) (R) 2021 meierjo@msu.edu 
Pending 2022  
Pending 2022  
Pending 2022  
Pending 2022  
BUSINESS
MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
John Jiang 2021  jiangj@broad.msu.edu
Ayalla Ruvio 2021  ruvio@broad.msu.edu
Pending 2022  
Pending 2022  
COMMUNICATION ARTS & SCIENCES
MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
David Ewoldsen 2022 ewoldsen@msu.edu
Lucinda Davenport 2022 ludavenp@msu.edu

Dustin Carnahan

2022

carnaha9@msu.edu

 

EDUCATION
MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
John Yun 2021 jyun@msu.edu
Dante Dixson (NT) 2022

dixsond2@msu.edu

Mary Juzwik 2022 mmjuzwik@msu.edu
David Wong 2022 dwong@msu.edu
Matthew Pontifex 2022 pontifex@msu.edu
ENGINEERING
MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
Neil Wright 2021 ntwright@egr.msu.edu
Martin Crimp (CCAC Chair for 2019-2020) 2021 crimp@egr.msu.edu
Mehmaz Ghamami 2022 ghamamim@egr.msu.edu 
Pang Ning Tan 2022 ptan@cse.msu.edu
Tongtong Li 2022 tongli@egr.msu.edu
HUMAN MEDICINE
MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
Adesuwa Olomu (FT) 2021 olomua@msu.edu
Narayanan Parameswaran 2021 narap@msu.edu
Julia Felton (NT) 2021 feltonj2@msu.edu
Karen Kelly-Blake 2022 kellyka1@msu.edu
Pending 2022  
JAMES MADISON COLLEGE
MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
Andaluna Borcila (R) (NT) 2021 borcila@msu.edu
Pending 2022  
LAW COLLEGE
MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
Catherine Grosso 2021 grosso@law.msu.edu
Nancy Costello 2022

costel29@msu.edu 

LYMAN BRIGGS
MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
Aklilu Zeleke 2021 zeleke@msu.edu
Robert Bell (CCAC Chair for 2019-2020) 2021 bellro@msu.edu
MUSIC
MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
Jane Bunnell (CCAC Chair for 2019-2020) 2021 jbunnell@msu.edu
Ken Prouty 2022  proutyk@msu.edu
Karen Salvador 2022  ksal@msu.edu
NATURAL SCIENCE
MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
George Garrity 2021 garrity@msu.edu
Kyle Miller (CCAC Chair rep for Saul Novo for 2019-2020) 2021 kmiller@msu.edu
Michelle Mazei-Robison 2022 mazeirob@msu.edu
Aaron Odom 2022 odom@chemistry.msu.edu
Willie Wong (NT) 2022 wongwil2@msu.edu
NURSING
MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
Patrick Crane (CCAC Chair for 2019-20) 2021 cranepat@msu.edu
Joanne Goldbort 2022 goldborj@msu.edu   
OSTEOPATHIC MEDICINE
MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
Kin Sing Lee (NT) 2021 sing@msu.edu
Jacek Cholewicki 2022 cholewic@msu.edu 
Jason Bazil 2022 jnbazil@msu.edu 
Alla Sikorski 2022 sikorska@msu.edu 
Robert Root 2022 rootrobe@msu.edu 
RESIDENTIAL COLLEGE
MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
Chris Scales 2021 scalesch@msu.edu
David Sheridan (CCAC Chair rep for John Aerni-Flessner) 2021 sherid16@msu.edu
SOCIAL SCIENCE
MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
Hyunkag Cho 2021 chohyu12@msu.edu
Lawrence Martin 2021 martinlw@msu.edu
Stephen Gasteyer 2022 gasteyer@msu.edu
Ryan Scrivens (NT) 2022 rscriv@msu.edu
Pending 2022  
VETERINARY MEDICINE
MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
Stephen Carey 2022  careys@msu.edu
Andres Contreras 2022  contre28@msu.edu
Stephanie Valberg 2022  valbergs@msu.edu
Victoria Watson 2022  watsonvi@msu.edu
NON-COLLEGE FACULTY
MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
Nicole Smeltekop (R) 2021 nicole@lib.msu.edu
Alexandra Hauser (R) 2022 hauseral@msu.edu
Lisa Lorenzo 2022

 loenzo7@msu.edu

ACADEMIC SPECIALISTS
MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL

Pending

2022

 

FACILITY FOR RARE ISOTOPE BEAMS (FRIB)
MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL

Pending

 2022  
EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS (NON-VOTING)
MEMBER
MEMBER TITLE
 
Samuel L. Stanley Jr. President  
Teresa K. Woodruff Provost (As of August 1, 2020)  
Pending Secretary for Academic Governance  
Gary Stone Faculty Emeriti  
Bill Beekman Athletic Council Chairperson  
Pending ASMSU Rep  
Pending COGS Rep  

Composition of the Committee includes:

Faculty representatives elected from each College (see Amended Bylaws section 3.3.1.2.)

The Steering Committee At-Large Faculty

University-Level Standing Committee Chairpersons

Ex-Officio Members (see Amended Bylaws section 3.3.1.5, 3.3.1.6., and 3.3.1.7.)

* Chairperson
** Vice Chairperson 
(R) Re-elected

(NT) Non-Tenured/Tenure System
(FT) Fixed-Term

 

Published by: 
Office of the Secretary for Academic Governance
acadgov@msu.edu 
(517) 355-2337

Posted April 14, 2020 and updated on May 27, 2020