Faculty Senate Membership 2017-2018

You are here

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Effective August 16, 2017

Faculty Senate is made up of The Steering Committee At-Large Faculty members, Standing Committee Chairpersons and Elected Faculty Members from Colleges:

The Steering Committee At-Large Faculty Members: (Voting members of University Council & Faculty Senate) 

Member College Email Term
Deborah Moriarty* Music forgerd@msu.edu 2018
Laura McCabe** Osteopathic Medicine mccabel@msu.edu 2018
Robert LaDuca  Lyman Briggs laduca@msu.edu  2019 
Greg Swain  Natural Science swaing@msu.edu  2019 
Edward Watts   Arts and Letters wattse@msu.edu  2019 

University Level Standing Committee Chairpersons: (Voting members of University Council and Faculty Senate)

Committee Member College Email Term
UCAG Gayle Lourens (R)  Nursing  gayle.lourens@hc.msu.edu  2018
UCUE Richard Miksicek (R)  Human Medicine  miksicek@msu.edu  2018
UCC Marci Mechtel  Nursing

 mechtelm@msu.edu

 2018
UCFA Thomas Tomlinson   Human Medicine  Tom.Tomlinson@ht.msu.edu  2018
UCFT Pending       2018
UCGS Chris Hogan (R)  Business  hogan@msu.edu  2018
UCSA

Pending 

     2018

College Elected Faculty Members:

Agriculture & Natural Resources

MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
Joseph Vargas (NT) 2018 vargas@anr.msu.edu
Bernard Zandstra 2018  zandstra@msu.edu
Steve Safferman 2018  steves@msu.edu
Yan Liu 2018 liuyan6@msu.edu
Pending per College 2019  

Arts & Letters

MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
Nancy Bunge (R) 2018 bunge@msu.edu
Brahim Chakrani 2018 chakrani@msu.edi
Rocio Quispe-Agnoli 2018 quispeag@cal.msu.edu
Laura Cloud 2018 larcloud@msu.edu
Joyce Meier  2019  meierjo@msu.edu

Business

MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
Yemisi Bolumole 2017 bolumole@msu.edu
Marilyn Johnson 2018 john1614@broad.msu.edu
Carl Borchgrevink 2018 carlb@broad.msu.edu
Pending per College 2019  

Communication Arts & Sciences

MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
Bill Dutton 2018 wdutton@msu.edu
Ashley Sanders-Jackson (NT) 2018 sande411@msu.edu
Keith Hampton 2019  khampton@msu.edu

Education

MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
Dan Gould 2018 drgould@msu.edu
Rand Spiro 2018 rspiro@msu.edu
Laura Tortorelli 2019  ltort@msu.edu

Engineering

MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
Jiliang Tang (NT)  2018 tangjili@msu.edu
Robert Ofoli 2018 ofoli@egr.msu.edu
Arun Ross 2018 rossarun@cse.msu.edu
Ilsoon Lee 2019  leeil@egr.msu.edu

Human Medicine

MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
Kevin Foley (NT) 2018  kevin.foley@hc.msu.edu
Brian Mavis 2018 fazleaba@msu.edu
William Spielman 2018 spielman@msu.edu
Ade Olomu 2019  ade.olomu@hc.msu.edu
Nara Parameswaran  2019  narap@msu.edu

James Madison College

MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
Anna Pegler-Gordon 2018 gordonap@msu.edu
Andaluna Borcila  2019 borcila@msu.edu

Law College

MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
Sean Pager 2018 spager@law.msu.edu
Pending per College 2018  

Lyman Briggs

MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
Aaron McCright 2019  mccright@msu.edu
Pending per College  2019  

Music

MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
Kevin Noe 2018 noekevin@msu.edu
Diego Rivera (R)  2019  riveradi@msu.edu

Natural Science

MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
Kyle Miller 2018 kmiller@msu.edu
Lisa Lapidus 2018 lapidus@msu.edu
Milan Miklavcic 2018 milan@math.msu.edu
V. Mandrekar 2018 mandrek1@msu.edu 
Russell Schwab 2019  schwabru@msu.edu

Nursing

MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
Lorraine Robbins 2018 robbin76@msu.edu
Seung Hee Choi (R) 2019  shchoi@msu.edu

Osteopathic Medicine

MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
Janice Schwartz (R) (FT) 2018 janice.schwartz@hc.msu.edu
Monique Floer(R) (NT) 2018 floer@msu.edu
Gerard Breitzer 2018 breitzer@msu.edu
Rebecca Pratt 2019  prattreb@msu.edu

Residential College

MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
Pending per College 2019  
Pending per College 2019  

Social Science

MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
Lori Skibbe 2018 skibbelo@msu.edu
LaShawn Harris (R) (NT) 2018 harri859@msu.edu
Jim Dulebohn 2018 dulebohn@msu.edu 
John Goddeeris (R) 2019  goddeeri@msu.edu
John Seita 2019 seita@msu.edu

Veterinary Medicine

MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
Linda Mansfield 2018 mansfie4@cvm.msu.edu
Edmund Rosser  2018 rosser@cvm.msu.edu
Robert Abramovitch (R) (NT) 2018 abramov5@msu.edu

Non-College Faculty

MEMBER
TERM
E-MAIL
Iris Kovar-Gough 2018 iriskg@msu.edu
Jill Morningstar 2018 jmorning@msu.edu
Hilary Gatlin 2019  gatlinhi@msu.edu

Ex-Officio Members (Non-Voting)

MEMBER
MEMBER TITLE
Lou Anna K. Simon President
June Youatt Provost
Gary Hoppenstand Secretary for Academic Governance
Gary Stone Faculty Emeriti
Sue Carter Athletic Council Chairperson
Pending ASMSU Rep
Pending COGS Rep

Composition of the Committee includes:
Faculty representatives elected from each College (see Amended Bylaws section 3.3.1.2.)

The Steering Committee At-Large Faculty

University-Level Standing Committee Chairpersons

Ex-Officio Members (see Amended Bylaws section 3.3.1.5, 3.3.1.6., and 3.3.1.7.)

* Chairperson
** Vice Chairperson 
(R) Re-elected

(NT) Non-Tenured/Tenure System
(FT) Fixed-Term

 

Published by: 
Office of the Secretary for Academic Governance
W32 Owen Graduate Hall
(517) 355-2337 
Updated May 23, 2017