Faculty and University Council Meetings

UPDATE AS OF MARCH 24, 2020: The Steering Committee, Faculty Senate, and University Council will meet remotely at the usual times beginning March 24, 2020.

February 18, 2014

You are here

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Approved 3-18-14




Tuesday, February 18, 2014

115 International Center

President Simon, D. Banks, K. Bartig, M. Becker, C. Borchgrevink, S. Carter, E. Charles, M. Chavez, W. Davidson, N. DeJoy, W. Donohue, J. Dudziak, J. Dunn, A. Faulkner, M. Ferkany, K. Forrest, X. Gao, E. Gardner, D. Grooms, M. Huebner, B. Kleinerman, L. McCabe, D. Mendez, D. Miner, D. Moriarty, M. Noel, J. Reifenberg, L. Robinson, L. Robison, N. Rudolph, F. Salem, G. Stone, C. Taggart, J. Turner, C. Vermeesch, F. Villarruel, T. Vogelsang, C. Waters, M. Worden, J. Wright, J. Youatt

ABSENT: C. Bolin, S. Carey, B. Chakrani, C. Coursaris, E. Crockett-Torabi, P. Dickson, R. Edozie, R. Fisher, D. Foran, K. Greenwalt, E. Hackert, H. Hughes, M. Jacobs, M. Kasavana, M. Koot, R. Maleczka, J. Maurer, P. Menchik, H. Mooney, M. Nair, D. Pathak, G. Roloff, M. Shapiro, M. Sticklen, A. Susarla, S. Tekalur, C. Traister, J. Walton, S. Watts

The meeting began at 3:20 p.m. with a Bass quorum, full quorum reached at 3:30.

Professor Carter called for a moment of silence in memory of the MSU student who recently died.

Approval of Agenda:
The agenda was approved as distributed.

Public Comments:
There were no public comments.

Approval of Minutes:
The minutes for January 21, 2014 were approved as distributed.

President’s Remarks:
President Simon commented on the recent loss of an MSU student. The University will provide consultation and continue to try to help students individually and collectively. The President announced the launch of the Spartan Advocate and web site. The Spartan Advocate provides facts, resources and opportunities to help communicate the importance of supporting MSU and Higher Education in Michigan to elected officials, the media and others. President Simon reported on President Obama’s visit to the MSU campus. The focus of the President’s visit was on the Farm Bill and Agriculture. There was some discussion on Bio economy/ fuels.

Acting Provost’s Remarks:
Professor Youatt announced the Mott Foundation gave the University a $9 million dollar gift for dedicated space in Flint for a Public Health Initiative for researchers to focus on the key health issues.

The Steering Committee Chairperson’s Remarks:
Professor Carter reported that the At-Large members of the Steering Committee will be finalizing nine members for the Faculty Health Care Council to be approved at the next Steering Committee meeting in March. The At-Large members have met with eleven of the College CAC/FAC groups so far this academic year. Professor John Powell will be representing MSU at the Annual National meeting of the Coalition on Intercollegiate Athletics (COIA) February 28th to March 2nd.

University Committee on Curriculum Report:
Professor Dennis Banks, Chairperson of UCC, presented the UCC report. There were four new programs, 40 program changes and two program deletions approved. There were 58 new courses approved, 420 course changes and 50 course deletions approved. There was a moratorium in Geography, Bachelor of Arts/ Bachelor of Science, effective Fall 2014 through Fall 2015. There were two discontinuations placed on the Graduate Specializations, Applied Developmental Science and Food and Agriculture Standards approved 10/23/13.

A motion was passed to accept the report.

Remarks on Initiatives from the Office for Administrative Services:
Professor Satish Udpa, Executive Vice-President for Administrative Services, presented an overview for the Office of Administrative Services. See information posted on the Governance web site under Current Issues.

Athletic Council Slate of Nominees:
Professor Chavez, Chairperson of UCAG, presented the slate of nominees for three vacancies on the Athletic Council as follows:

Beth Alexander
Kelly Brittan
Tracey Covassin
Nancy DeJoy
Edmund Outslay
Sayuri Shimizu

A motion passed to endorse the slate of nominees. The President will now select three members.

Steering Committee At-Large Slate of Nominees:
Professor Chavez, Chairperson of UCAG, withdrew the Slate of Nominees for the Steering Committee. The Slate will be brought back in March.

New Business:
There was no further business.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:07 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,


Jacqueline Wright
Secretary for Academic Governance


Tapes of complete meetings of the Faculty Council are available for review in the office of the Secretary for Academic Governance, W32 Owen Graduate Hall, 355-2337

Committee Meeting Date: 
Tuesday, February 18, 2014 - 3:20pm
Committee Type: 
Minutes Status :