University Committee on Student Affairs Membership 2017-2018

You are here

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Membership - Academic Year 2017-2018

Effective August 16, 2017


For UCSA schedule of meeting dates, agendas and minutes, please refer to the following web site:


James Roper Arts and Letters 2018
Ehsan Ahmed Arts and Letters 2018
Jim Smith (R) Lyman Briggs/Natural Science 2019
Stephen Gasteyer Social Science 2019


Dante Booker ASMSU 2018
Mohammed Atoui ASMSU 2018
Cookie Rifiotis ASMSU 2018
Haley Gold ASMSU 2018
Lorenzo Santavicca* ASMSU-Chairperson 2018
Sarah Ghazal ASMSU 2018
Howie Countryman ASMSU 2018
Matt Phister COGS 2018
Kathleen Schenkel COGS 2018

Ex Officio

Denise Maybank Vice President for Student Affairs  
Allyn Shaw Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs
Robert Caldwell Ombudsperson
Rick Shafer Associate Director, Student Life

* Chairperson

**Vice Chairperson


Composition of Committee includes:

4 Faculty members - elected by Faculty Senate

8 Student members appointed as follows:  6 appointees from ASMSU, including the Chairperson of ASMSU; 2 Council of Graduate Students appointees;  The University Committee on Student Affairs appointees are expeted to reflect the diversity of their constituencies.

The Vice President for Student Affairs and Services or the Vice President's designee, and the University Ombudsperson shall be members with voice, but no vote.

The Chairperson of the University Committee on Student Affairs shall be a voting member of the University Council.

Published by: 
Office of the Secretary for Academic Governance
(517) 355-2337 
Updated October 19, 2017