October 7, 2004

You are here

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Approved 11-4-04



Thursday, October 7, 2004
3:15 p.m., 203 Olds Hall

Present: DeJong, Gossain, Hlasny, Hughes, Larabee, Meza, Peterson, Smith, Tluczek, Weber; Others:  Harrison, Hunt, Wright

Absent:   Lord, Melakeberhan, Spilotro

The meeting was called to order at 3:26 p.m. with a quorum present.

Approval of Agenda:
The agenda was amended to move elections to the end of the meeting.  With this amendment made the agenda was approved.

Approval of Minutes:
The minutes of March 2, 2004 were approved.

College Bylaws Review:

UCAG will review bylaws for Libraries Faculty and the Colleges of Education and Engineering.  Wright explained that College bylaws are reviewed every five years on a staggered schedule that allows UCAG to review a few every year.  College bylaws are reviewed to ensure they are consistent with University Bylaws for Academic Governance.

Smith asked for more information regarding the review of bylaws.  Hunt and Wright explained that College bylaws have many provisions, the most relevant of which are the handling of grievances, promotion and tenure, and selection of Dean.

College bylaws will be reviewed as follows:                                         

Libraries   College of Education College of Engineering
Christina DeJong Vlad Hlasny  Ved Gossain
Ann Larabee    Edgar Meza Harold Hughes
Linda Lou Smith Dick Peterson  Dan Weber

DeJong, Peterson, and Weber agreed to act as “conveners” for each group and organize a meeting for their subcommittee to discuss the appropriate college bylaws.  Harrison will assign the remaining members of UCAG not present at this meeting and email the entire committee with email addresses.

Peterson requested additional detail on the mission and purpose of UCAG.  Hunt explained there were three main functions of UCAG:

  1. Review college bylaws
  2. Review suggested amendments to University bylaws (or generate suggested amendments).
  3. Assign individuals to committees from the pool of faculty volunteers (January)


Chairperson:  Edgar Meza and Ann Larabee were nominated for the position of chairperson.  Meza’s comments included his status as a James Madison student in his second year, and he expressed an interest in being more involved in governance, and was willing to work hard on the committee.  Larabee’s comments included her experience last year on UCAG, and she expressed her interest in the work of the Faculty Voice Committee and how that work would affect the University Bylaws.

Wright stated that the chair of UCAG acts as the representative to faculty council, and thus must be a faculty member.  Weber added that a student had chaired the committee previously.  Wright added that a student could act as co-chair if the committee agreed to allow it.

Voting of UCAG members present included 7 votes for Larabee and 3 votes for Meza.  Larabee will act as chairperson of UCAG for 2004-2005.

Vice-Chairperson:  Edgar Meza was nominated for the position of Vice-Chairperson.  No other nominations were received for the position of vice-chairperson, and Meza was elected unanimously.

Secretary:  Christina DeJong was nominated for the position of secretary.  No other nominations were received for the position of secretary, and DeJong was elected unanimously.


Meeting adjourned 3:56 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,
Christina DeJong

Standing Committee Date: 
Thursday, October 7, 2004 - 3:26pm
Minutes Status: