Committee Meetings Throughout Summer 2020

The Steering Committee (TSC), Faculty Senate (FS) and University Council (UC) met throughout the summer 2020, via Zoom.  TSC convened on June 9 and July 7. FS convened on June 23, July 21 and August 11. Univesity Council convened on July 21.

The Schedule of Meeting Dates for 2020-2021 can be found by clicking on the link below and by clicking on the black tab to the lef of the website, under Shcedule of Meeting Dates.

Schedule of Meeting Dates for 2020-2021


September 3, 2004 - Special Meeting

You are here

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Approved 9/14/04




September 3, 2004

Present: Abeles, Harrow , McCoy, Morash, Nair, Newman, Ogundimu, Prasad, Schechter, Sticklen, Weber, D., Weber, R.; Others: Harrison, Wright, Anderson (News Bulletin), McNulty (State News)

Absent: Melnick, Banks, McPherson, Simon

Chairperson Sticklen called the meeting to order at 12:10 p.m. with a quorum being present.

The agenda was amended and approved with the addition of the Task Force groups reports.

Chairperson's Remarks:
Professor Sticklen, Chairperson thanked members for coming to the special meeting.

Recommendations for Search and Rating Procedures for Permanent Provost:
Professor Sticklen noted there were minimal comments raised in Faculty Council in response to the proposed Recommendations for the Search and Rating Procedures for the Permanent Provost. Professor Sticklen asked members if there were any additional comments related to the Recommendations. Members were satisfied with the procedures developed and a motion was passed to forward the Recommended Procedures on to President–designate Simon.

Reporting of the Task Force Groups and the Medical Oversight Committee:
Professor Sticklen noted that the CCR Task Force group will report at the Academic Council meeting on September 7, 2004 . Professor Abeles will also give a brief report on the Medical School Oversight Committee at that time. Professor Sticklen expressed concern about having any further reports at this Council meeting. It is important to have time for discussion and dialogue. The Task Force groups ready to report at the next Academic Council meeting, September 28, include the Residential Colleges and the Integrative Studies. A motion was passed to approve this schedule.

A motion was passed to go into a closed session.

Review of Nominees for the Search and Selection Committee for Acting Provost:
Professor Wright presented the slate of nominees for discussion and the selection for the Search and Rating Committee for the Acting Provost to be forwarded to President-designate Simon. A motion was passed to send the following nominees:

  • Dean or Associate Dean:
    Dean Fouke – Engineering
    Professor Fisher – Honors College
    Professor Potchen – CHM, Radiology
  • Distinguished Professor:
    Professor Smitherman – AL, English
    Or David Robinson – AL , History
  • Tenure System Faculty:
    Christina DeJong – SS, Criminal Justice
    Nancy Fleck – MSU Libraries
    Rob Maleczka – NS, Chemistry
    Steve Lacy – CA, Journalism
  • Undergraduate Students – ASMSU
    Dan Weber
    Vinayak Prasad
  • Graduate Students – COGS
    Christina Harzman
    Carl Newman

A motion passed to return to an open meeting.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,


Jacqueline Wright
Secretary for Academic Governance

Committee Meeting Date: 
Friday, September 3, 2004 - 12:10pm
Committee Type: 
Minutes Status :