Committee Meetings Throughout Summer 2020

The Steering Committee (TSC) and Faculty Senate (FS) will meet throughout summer 2020.  TSC convened on June 9 and FS covened on June 23.  TSC convened again on July 7, via Zoom. University Council and Faculty Senate will convene ,via Zoom, on Tuesday, July 21, 3-6pm.  University Council to convene first and Faculty Senate will convene immediately following.  The Faculty Senate meeting may run until 6pm. Future summer meetings TBA.

University Committee on Graduate Studies Membership 2020-2021

You are here

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Membership - Academic Year 2020-2021

Effective August 16, 2020

For UCGS schedule of meeting dates, agendas and minutes, please refer to the following web site:


Lorraine Weatherspoon Agriculture & Natural Resources 2021
Cathy Ernst Agriculture & Natural Resources 2022
Ben Van Dyke** Arts & Letters 2021
Yomaira Figueroa Arts & Letters 2022
Kyonghee Kim Business 2021
Pending Business 2022
Bruno Takahashi Communication Arts & Sciences 2022
Anne-Lise Hlavorsen Education 2022
David Wong Education 2021
Mahmoodul Haq Engineering 2022
Assaf Gilad Human Medicine 2021
Frank Ravitch Law 2022
Tian Zhou (NT) Music 2021
Kristen Tollefson* Natural Science 2022
Tom Sharkey Natural Science 2021
Denise Soltow Hershey Nursing 2022
Donna Koslowsky  Osteopathic Medicine 2021
Joanne Riebschleger Social Science 2021
Joseph Lonstein Social Science 2022
Adam Moeser  Veterinary Medicine 2021


Pending Graduate 2021
Pending Graduate 2021
Pending Graduate 2021
Pending Graduate 2021
Pending Graduate 2021

Ex Officio

Thomas Jeitschko Dean, Graduate School  

* Chairperson
** Vice Chairperson 

(R) Re-elected


Composition of Committee includes:

1 Faculty member from each college, with a Graduate or Graduate-Professional Degree Program (elected by colleges)

1 additional Faculty member from Agriculture & Natural Resources, Arts & Letters, Business, Education, Natural Science and Social Science

5 Graduate Students selected by the Council of Graduate Students (no more than one student may be from any one department, with consideration being given to University-wide representation, insofar as possible)

The Dean of the Graduate School, or the Dean's designee, shall be a member with voice but no vote.

The Chairperson of the Committee will serve on The Steering Committee, Faculty Senate and the University Council.

Published by:
Office of the Secretary for Academic Governance
(517) 355-2337

Created March 2020 and updated June 1, 2020