February 28, 2012

You are here

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Approved 3-27-2012




Tuesday, February 28, 2012

3:15 p.m., 115 International Center

  President Simon, Provost Wilcox, W. Anderson, T. Summerhill (for M. Baba), E. Bank, J. Boughman, C. Brown, R. Brandenburg (for D. Buhler), R. Caldwell, D. Campbell, S. Carter, E. Charles, K. Cheruvelil, C. Coursaris, T. Curry, E. Cushman, W. Davidson II, L. Dillon, J. Dunn, D. Estry, M. Fillmore, C. Frilingos, P. Hunt (for J.I. Gray), M. Grieshop, C. Hyslop (for C. Haka), M. Halloran, T. Holt, C. Alsup (for J. Howarth, C. Jackson-Elmoore, R. Jones, Y. Komori, M. Kaplowitz, K. Klomparens, T. Levine, K. Lovell, L. Mak, D. Maybank, H. Melakeberhan, J. Milius, D. Miller, W. Miller, M. Morath, D. Moriarty, M. Mundt, M. Noel, R. Ofoli, V. Poltavets, J. Powell, R. Putnam, E. Freedman (for J. Riedinger), J. Revitte, N. Rovig, D. Rovner, L. Stanford, L. Selanders, K. Selasky, D. Sheridan, K. Millenbah (for E. Simmons), W. Strampel, Z. Taylor, T. Wolff (for S. Udpa), C. Vermeesch, J. Washington, P. Whitten, D. Wilson, J. Wright, D. Prestel (for K. Wurst), J. Youatt

ABSENT:  G. Aben, K. Ames, C. Arthur, M. Becker, L. Blau, J. Brooks, L. Brooks, M. Botros, S. Carey, M. Chavez, R. Coffey, T. Davis, S. Esquith, H. Fitzgerald, S. Fletcher, J. Forger, J. Foss, S. Garnett, C. Gelbke, D. Gift, J. Goddeeris, T. Graham, M. Griffes, L. Gut, S. Hassan, D. Heller, J. Hoehn, H. Hughes, R. Janoudi, L. Jordan, A. Joseph, J. Joyce, M. Kasavana, R.J. Kirkpatrick, M. Lawrence, S. Lenway, C. Little, R. Mabokela, S. Marino, E. Martinak, S. Masboob, A. Meisel, P. Menchik, K. Mock, V. Nikolovski, B. Olivier, D. Pathak, H. Perlstadt, L. Phlips, S. Pomeroy, S. Pratt, A. Prezklas, M. Rappley, F. Ravitch, C. Scales, C. Schotten, M. Shapiro, A.J. Singh, B. Syzek, R. Taggart, S. Tekalur, M. Thompson, C. Traister, M. Treadwell, L. Udpa, S. Varriale, C. Washington, S. Watts, B. Wernette, P. Williams, E. Yakura

The meeting began at 3:45 p.m. without a quorum.  A quorum was reached at 3:52 p.m.

Approval of Agenda:
The agenda was amended to add the Nominee Slate for three Advisory Committees.  The amended agenda was approved.

Public Comments:
There were no public comments.

Approval of Minutes:
The minutes of January 24, 2012 were approved as distributed. 

President’s Remarks:
The President announced that the composition for the Search Committee for the Vice-President for Research and Graduate Studies has been distributed and Professor Nunez will be the Chairperson.  The Committee is working actively with the Search Consultant Firm, Russell Reynolds Associates.  President Simon announced an email is being sent requesting faculty to submit to Professor Curry or Professor Nunez ideas of candidates for this position. Faculty participation may be needed in May.  Presentations will be posted electronically for faculty feedback.

President Simon noted the Governor submitted his recommendations since the Council’s last meeting.  The formula in the recommendations is very simplistic, does not value graduate work or research, treats a degree from any place the same and gives more credit to graduation than some of the other output measures.  If you look at the performance base components of the recommendations, MSU would have about a 1.4% increase in the operating budget of the University.  There is no increase for agriculture and this is something that will be worked on in the legislative process.  If the University gets any money, it has to be performance based.  There is not a natural entitlement that is part of the budget.  The second part of the Governor’s budget gives an equal amount of money on the average to holding down tuition.  An institution is eligible for the pool of money if tuition is held to less than 4%.  This will disadvantage institutions that are highly tuition dependent and advantages those that are less tuition dependent.

The performance equation is not added to the base of the budget as it is one-time money.  The business leaders of Michigan gave their presentation to the Senate and Higher Education Committee.  Their approach is outcome based, compares institutions in their Carnegie Classification, and provides opportunity to earn revenue on a recurring basis.  The business leaders believe that the billion dollars that has been lost to higher education over the last decade in Michigan should be restored.  The University is preparing to testify mid-March to tell our story to the legislature.

Provost’s Remarks:
Provost Wilcox reported on a letter to the Editor in Higher Education talking about a build up in the Federal legislature calling for a step backward in terms of publication disclosure.  The NIH has had a restriction that material became public after twelve months and there was an attempt to roll this back nationally across all Federal agencies.  The University submitted a response in opposition to the legislation.  The University is on record in terms of advocacy for openness of scholarship and ownership of scholarship on the part of individual faculty members.

The Provost acknowledged Zachary Taylor, Associate Chairperson of ASMSU.  Zachary has done a great job in the last year in helping ASMSU become a more effective organization, both in terms of form and process.  Zachary and Emily took it upon themselves to organize a student caucus of ASMSU.  The purpose of the caucus was to prepare and inform the students on the topic in University Council.

The Steering Committee Chairperson’s Remarks:
Professor Powell thanked members for their participation in the Five Year Review of the Secretary for Academic Governance and the Provost.  Professor Powell announced that all of the Committee responses are expected back on the URO Proposal and encouraged members to go the web site for information and review.  This will be coming to Faculty Senate.

Slate of Nominees for Election of At-Large Faculty to the Steering Committee:
Secretary Wright presented the slate of nominees for the election to the Steering Committee for two vacancies as follows:

Susan Carter – Communication Arts & Sciences
Martin Crimp – Engineering
Joseph Francese – Arts and Letters
Tom Holt – Social Science
Milind Khire – Engineering
Mary Noel – Human Medicine
George Rowan – Agriculture & Natural Resources
Miriam Sticklen – Agriculture & Natural Resources
Gregg Swain - Chemistry

A motion passed to support the slate.

Slate of Nominees for the University Military Education Advisory Committee, Department of Police and Public Safety Oversight Committee and the University Committee on Student Affairs:
Secretary Wright presented the slate of nominees for the following Committees:

The Department of Police and Public Safety Oversight Committee – two vacancies

Jennifer Brandon*

Barbara Atshaves
Natural Science

Mohamed El-Gafy
Agriculture & Natural Resources

Joseph Messina
Social Science

University Military Education Advisory Committee – 3 vacancies

Joseph Codde

D’Ann de Simone
Arts & Letters

Andre Lee

Michael E. Thompson
Social Science

Sainan Wei
Human Medicine

University Committee on Student Affairs – two vacancies

Tracey Covassin*

Mathieu Ngouajio
Agriculture & Natural Resources

Nora Rifon
Communications Arts & Sciences

John Rogers
Agriculture and Natural Resources


A motion passed approving the slate.

Contract and Grant Administration Update:
Professor Martin Hawley presented an update on Contract and Grant Administration.  See overview on the Governance website under Current Issues.

New Business:
There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 4:35 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,


Jacqueline Wright
Secretary for Academic Governance


Tapes of complete meetings of the Academic Council are available for review in the office of the Secretary for Academic Governance, W32 Owen Graduate Hall, 355-2337.

Committee Meeting Date: 
Tuesday, February 28, 2012 - 3:45pm
Committee Type: 
Minutes Status :