Committee Meetings Throughout Summer 2020

The Steering Committee (TSC) and Faculty Senate (FS) will meet throughout summer 2020.  TSC convened on June 9 and FS covened on June 23.  TSC convened again on July 7, via Zoom. University Council and Faculty Senate will convene ,via Zoom, on Tuesday, July 21, 3-6pm.  University Council to convene first and Faculty Senate will convene immediately following.  The Faculty Senate meeting may run until 6pm. Future summer meetings TBA.

October 23, 2012

You are here

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Approved 11-20-12




Tuesday, October 23, 2012

3:15 p.m., 115 International Center

Provost Wilcox, G. Aben, M. Aldrich, W. Anderson, T. Summerhill (for M. Baba), M. Becker, C. Brown, D. Buhler, R. Caldwell, S. Carter, K. Cheruvelil, D. Clemons, T. Curry, A. Dickerson, L. Dillon, S. Fitzgerald, J. Forger, J. Francese, D. Gift, M. Goheen, Y. Gonzales, J, Greenwalt, M.E. Hacker, N. Fleck (for C. Haka), D. Heller, G. Hoppenstand, C. Alsup (for J. Howarth), M. Huebner, H. Hughes, C. Jackson-Elmoore, Y. Komori, M. Koot, J. Wagner (for S. Lenway), L. Mak, C. Manitowabi, E. Martinak, D. Maybank, T. Mayer, L. McCabe, D. Mendez, D. Mitchell, H. Mooney, P.  Mooney, D. Moriarty, T. Wehrwein (for M. Mundt), M. Nair, A. Newton, P. Pakala, N. Pasmanter, F. Pugh, A. Rabellorolim, A. Sousa (for M. Rappley), A. Mehretu (for J. Riedinger), L. Robinson, L. Robinson, G. Roloff, C. Roseth, N. Rovig, L. Selanders, L. Shelton, D. Sheridan, E. Simmons, L. Stanford, B. Sternquist, W. Strampel, M. Treadwell, S. Teahan, T. Wolff (for S. Udpa), C. Waters, S. Watts, P. Whitten, M. Worden, M. Wright, D. Prestel (for K. Wurst). J. Youatt

ABSENT:  President Simon, E. Bank, K. Bartig, L. Blau, C. Bolin, S. Borkowski, S. Carey, J, Castaneda, E. Charles, M. Chavez, J. Conwell, C. Coursaris, N. Crum, W. Davidson, N. DeJoy, J. Dunn, S. Esquith, D. Estry, H. Fitzgerald, S. Fletcher, J. Foss, X. Gao, S. Garnett, K. Gelbke, M. Grieshop, J. Gorman, D. Grooms, A. Hatinger, S. Hsu, M. Kasavana, M. Khire, R.J. Kirkpatrick, K. Klomparens, L. Lee, T. Lunsford, R. Maleczka, J. Maurer, R. McCormick, P. Menchik, D. Miller, M. Noel, B. O'Brien, J. Powell, K. Renn, A. Richards, T. Rogers, D. Rovner, C. Scales, M. Shapiro, A.J. Singh, R. Spreng, C. Stokes, S. Tekalur, C. Traister, J. Turner, F. Villarruel, J. Walton, J. Wright

The meeting began at 3:15 p.m. with a quorum.

Approval of Agenda:
The agenda was approved as distributed.

Public Comments:
There were no public comments.

Approval of Minutes:
The minutes of September 18, 2012 were approved as distributed. 

President’s Remarks:
The President was attending a meeting out of town.

Provost’s Remarks:
Provost Wilcox deferred comments until presentation.

The Steering Committee Vice Chairperson’s Remarks:
Professor Carter’s comments were not audible due to malfunction of the audio taping.

MSU Enrollment Report:
Provost Wilcox presented information on the enrollment for Fall, 2012.   Presentation posted on the Governance web site.

Motion for an Amendment to the Bylaws:
Professor Francese, Chairperson of UCAG, proposed the following motion to amend the Bylaws:

4.6.1. The faculty of each college, and the non-college faculty, shall select one faculty member to represent it on the University Committee on Faculty Affairs (UCFA). UCFA shall have as members at least two non-tenured regular faculty and two full-time fixed-term faculty who are eligible to be voting faculty under Each year the University Committee on Academic Governance shall designate which colleges, or college groupings, shall select non-tenured faculty and full time fixed-term faculty as members of the University Committee on Faculty Affairs. The Provost or the Provost’s designee and the Director of the Office of  Planning and Budgets, or designee, shall be a member of UCFA with voice, but no vote.

The motion was passed.

New Business:
There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 3:46 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,


Jacqueline Wright
Secretary for Academic Governance


Tapes of complete meetings of the Academic Council are available for review in the office of the Secretary for Academic Governance, W32 Owen Graduate Hall, 355-2337.

Committee Meeting Date: 
Tuesday, October 23, 2012 - 3:15pm
Committee Type: 
Minutes Status :