Skip to main content

Welcome to Michigan State
University's Academic Governance


The Michigan State University Academic Governance was established in 1955. The Secretary for Academic Governance is Professor Jacqueline Wright. Professor Wright is an ex-officio member of University Council, Faculty Senate, The Steering Committee and Academic Congress.  She serves those bodies as Secretary and Parliamentarian. Professor Wright meets with the University Committee on Academic Governance working with that committee to review and interpret the University Bylaws for Academic Governance. This Web site features many informational resources, including meeting dates, agendas, minutes, committees and memberships.

Along with other administrative offices, the Office of Academic Governance provides staff support to the the Steering Committee, University Council, Faculty Senate, and the University-Level Standing Committees.  The office conducts and oversees elections for faculty vacancies on Standing Committees, Advisory Consultative Committees, At-Large Faculty Members of the Steering Committee and Other Boards and Committees.


Updated July 25, 2014